2022 Scholarship Application

Download File
Matt "Garbo" Grabowski  Music Scholarship Fund

Matt Grabowski, “Garbo”, as he was known in the music industry, had an extensive background in music. He started playing music at the age of 7 – percussion, drums, keyboards, guitar and bass guitar. He also loved to sing. Matt majored in music at Jersey City State College, and was the owner of CMI Records, an independent label. Matt wrote, arranged and produced numerous recordings that have charted on radio in the states and overseas. After playing in bands since 11 years of age, one which he started with his brother Ray called CERBERUS, Matt launched a solo career under the name MATT GARBO and released 9 CD's which received numerous awards from Billboard and also charted on the A/C charts. He appeared on many television, personality and news shows regarding his music throughout the years. 
Matt’s passion was music, and to honor his legacy, we would like to help a deserving student, who demonstrates a love of music, with their musical career.  The Athenia Business Association and the Grabowski family feel this is one way to memorialize Matt and at the same time give back to our community – a community which Matt loved and worked so hard to keep it thriving.
That is why the Athenia Business Association of Clifton, NJ established a music scholarship in Matt’s name - Matt Grabowski (Garbo) Music Scholarship - to benefit graduating Clifton High School students who are interested in pursuing a music career.  The award of $1,000.00 to be given each year. 
For more information about the scholarship, or if you would like to donate to the scholarship fund, please contact the ABA, 800 Van Houten Ave., Clifton, NJ 07013.
Note: Matt Grabowski was a Councilman in Clifton up until his death in 2015. He served from 2010 – 2015. He was also the President of the ABA.
We are now accepting applications for the 2022 Matt “Garbo” Grabowski Music Scholarship. Applications are available in the guidance department or you can contact the ABA – email: posteagle@aol.com, phone: 201-410-1686. Deadline is April 1st, 2022. 
Past scholarship recipients are listed below.

Congratulations to all of our recipients.

2019 Scholarship recipient -Donovin Leon

2018 Scholarship recipient -Mackenzie Miller

2017 Scholarship recipient -Gabriela Ferreira

2016 Scholarship recipiant -Marc Pannullo